The Round-Up: The Best Recent Song Releases To Start Of Your June On The Right Note

VICTON delivered hard.

Solid bops from SB19’s Ken, NIKI, NCT Dream, and more round out this week’s collection of recent song drops.

Related: The Round-Up: New Music Releases To Help You Close Out Your Summer Days

Even though its only been a few days since the beginning of the month, the music world has been hitting us with news left and right. For starters, Moira Dela Torre announced her separation from her husband and we can’t listen to Paubaya the same way again. The Begin Again K-pop concert came and went over the past weekend to the delight of many Pinoy K-pop fans. Keeping it in the realm of concerts, the week also gave us new concert announcements in the form of Louis Tomlinson and The Script coming the country. The track list for IM NAYEON was revealed and it includes a feature from Stray Kids’ Felix. ITZY and aespa both announced July comebacks with ITZY even going as far to announce the dates for the first leg of their upcoming world tour.

Speaking of comebacks, The 1975 announced that they were making theirs this year. BTS visited the White House to discuss Anti-Asian hate and announced initial plans for their Festa. Avril Lavigne’s iconic debut album, Let Go, celebrated its 20th anniversary. And finally, WJSN was named the winners of Queendom Season two. But aside from the news, start off your June in the right beat and note with our selection of some of the new song releases of the week. Who knows, one of these tracks might just become your next favorite track of the month.   


NIKI fans had a great week this past week. For starters, the Indonesian star announced that she is dropping her sophomore album, Nicole, this August. And to begin the era, she dropped a new song called Before. NIKI’s storytelling is on full display once more as she lays down her vocals on a sentimental track about remembering. Considering how personal and special Nicole is set to be, which will feature songs from her younger self, NIKI’s new album is not one to be missed.


SB19’s Ken has always been one to push the envelope when it comes to his solo career and projects. And when it comes to his new song BULAN, Ken might have reached his highest creative peak yet. The hard-hitting track takes heavy inspiration from our rich culture, both in its lyrics, sound, and visuals to make for a creative masterwork. The visuals ate down and we love how the intro vocals were done by Stell.


After a nearly three year wait, Post Malone is finally out with a new album through the release of his fourth studio album, Twelve Carat Toothache. At 14 tracks longs, there’s quite a lot to get into as most of the album sees the rapper get on his more emotional side. But it’s not all sour, because there is a lot of breathing room such as his fun and vibey collab with Doja Cat called I Like You. Both mainly sing on the track, which is a nice change of pace.


Fresh off their Begin Again concert appearance in Manila, NCT Dream is back to bless us with the release of their second repackaged album, Beatbox, as well as the comeback single of the same name. Harkening back to an era of 90s hip-hop, the dreamies deliver a fun and catchy new track that just feels like good vibes all around.


In case you haven’t heard of her yet, Ena Mori is a star in the making and is seen by many as one of the next generation of musicians who are changing the game. No one’s doing it like her in OPM and her new song SOS is a showcase of that. Her unique visuals, vocals, and musicality are on full display in this quirky pop track.


The young women of aespa are coming for wigs this July as they are set to release their anticipated comeback called Girls. And as an appetizer for this new era of theirs, the group dropped a pre-release single, Illusion. The uniquely aespa track blends electronic and hip-hop for a song you won’t forget easily. If this is just a taste of what’s in store, then this new comeback for aespa is going to be fire.  


OPM musician Paul Pablo delves into the power of love in his stirring new pop track, Di Inakala. The pop song sees Paul get introspective as he reflects on how he didn’t expect to end up in the beautiful relationship that he finds himself in now. It’s like a reflection of how love can really change things.  


Even though 14 maybe under two and a half minutes, that’s more than enough time for Clinton Kane’s new track to get its point across. The song deals with the topic of the ever relatable trying to find yourself when you are young. Clinton reminisces on his past as he reflects on his inner monologue of trying to become an adult. Starting at 14 and ending at 20, the song is delivered through Clinton’s exceptional voice. The track comes from his upcoming debut album of the same name dropping later this year.


The 1975 isn’t the only band making their long awaited comeback this 2022. After over four years, Panic! At The Disco is set to return to the music scene with the release of their new album, Viva Las Vengeance, this August 19. And to begin this era, they dropped a new song of the same name. The eccentric rock track about growing up in Las Vegas feels like a mix of their new sound with their older tunes, which is a much welcome development.


Quezon City born musician Eyedress delivers all vibes with his new track, STILL IN LOVE. Featuring his signature sound, the song sees the musician share how he’s still in love with a certain someone and is willing to do whatever it takes to prove it.


Stupid O’clock is what VICTON is going to call you if you don’t give a listen to their latest comeback of the same name. The song is a complete serve with its smoothness and funk levels hitting at all the right places. And the beat drop during the chorus is just too good. Once you’re done listening to the song, give their new EP, Chaos, a play as well. The boy group really came in last minute for a surprise serve.


Markus Paterson highlights the importance of being acquainted with oneself in his latest single l, Help. Produced by Indian songwriter/producer/artist Aman Sagar, the single touches on more personal notes as it revolves around owning one’s vices and imperfections. The emotional and timely message is aided by the sounds of early-2000s R&B, as well as elements of soul mixed with an indie spin.


Whenever Zephanie release a new song, you know she’s going to deliver on the vocals department. And that also includes OSTs as seen in her new track, Tunay Na Minamahal, which is part of the OST for the GMA drama, Apoy Sa Langit. The power ballad is an excellent showcase of Zephanie’s vocals.  


The boom of crypto over the past couple of years has been divisive to say the least. Some love it with all their soul, while others think it’s just another passing trend. One person who isn’t here for crypto is salem ilese, as seen in her new track, Crypto Boy. The rock inspired song sees the musician breakup with her soon to be ex as she has no time for how he’s too obsessed with everything and anything crypto.


Former Down frontman Jonn Walter has recently embarked on a solo career. And his first official single for his new era is the track Ikaw. The love song centers on knowing that a person is the one for you and might get you moving with its swaying sound.  


You may know SAB as the singer-songwriter behind some of your favorite local bops. Now, it’s time for the 20-year-old to shine with the release of her live acoustic album She@Twenty. All the tracks are official recordings from her birthday concert last April 24, which makes for an easy-listening experience and soothing feeling for a more laid-back and chill moment.

Continue Reading: The Round-Up: New Music Releases Of The Week That You Need To Get Into