No Mo’ Receipts: Instagram Now Lets You Know If Someone Takes A Screenshot With Vanish

We might be having major trust issues, help.

Did we also mention you can now send disappearing messages once someone views it?

As Instagram rolls out their new Vanish feature, more and more users are starting to feel unhappy about social media. But not to worry, because the new feature is opt-in for anyone you have a conversation with.

Related: Twitter Just Introduced Fleets And We’re Not Sure How to Feel About it

Photo courtesy of Messengernews.fb.com

Look, it’s not like the feature is new, because Snapchat was the first to create this feature. But what was the motive in creating vanishing mode? The product managers behind Instagram and messenger explain why.

“We designed vanish mode with safety and choice in mind, so you control your experience. Only people you’re connected to can use vanish mode with you in a chat.”

Bridget Pujals and Manik singh

HOW DOES IT WORK?

To make use of vanish mode, you have to swipe up to activate, but if not, you can repeat the gesture to reset to regular chat. The feature comes in three options: seen messages automatically disappear, taking a screenshot will notify, and conversations can be reported.

While the intention is for user safety, the vanish mode can also be quite harmful for some businesses and erm—personal relationships. Here are some of the mixed reactions from netizens we’ve seen today:

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT